Top 10 Best A-League Finals Games

They are the thrilling climax to every season, and FourFourTwo has dug out the top 10 best finals games that kept us on the edge of our seats – check them out now!
1 of 10

10. Melbourne Victory 2-1 Sydney FC 2013-14, Elimination Final (18/04/2014)

While neither team was considered a huge chance to take the Championship, this elimination final still provided some thrill thanks to a 92nd minute winner for Victory courtesy of Guilherme Finkler.

9. Brisbane Roar 3-2 Central Coast Mariners 2011-12, Semi-final (08/04/2012)

In the second leg of the first vs. second semi-final, Brisbane led 2-0 at the 26th minute but just six minutes later it was all even. A goal from Henrique in the 68th sunk the Mariners, but after the 2-0 win from Brisbane in the first leg this game was virtually done.

8. Melbourne Victory 2-1 Perth Glory 2012-13, Elimination Final (05/04/2013)

Heading into stoppage time it seemed like Perth Glory would advance as they led 1-0 from the 15th minute. A 91st minute penalty from Mark Milligan sank Glory hearts before Archie Thompson scored five minutes into extra time. Victory won 2-1, heartbreak for Perth.

7. Perth Glory 3-2 Wellington Phoenix 2011-12, Semi-final (07/04/2012)

While it was 2-2 by the 90th minute whistle, Perth took the win in extra time thanks to a 111th minute winner from Todd Howarth. It was a crucial victory for Perth en route to the Grand Final.

6. Adelaide United 2-1 Melbourne Victory 2006-07, Major Semi-final Leg 2 (04/02/2007)

After a nil-all draw in the first leg, tensions were high for the two big rivals heading into the second. Victory scored the winner in the 92nd minute through James Robinson and sent Adelaide down to a Preliminary Final with the Jets. And if United fans thought that was bad, it was about to get a lot worse.

5. Adelaide United 6-0 Melbourne Victory 2006-07, Grand Final (18/02/2007)

The darkest day in Adelaide United’s history, Victory slaughtered the Reds 6-0 in the 2007 Grand Final with Archie Thompson bagging five goals. It was a horror show, and Melbourne fans loved watching their rivals suffer.

4. Newcastle Jets 3-2 Brisbane Roar 2007-08, Preliminary-final (17/02/2008)

Brisbane feature heavily in this list, but for once they come on the wrong side. After Roar equalised in the 92nd minute, it looked like they could snatch the win. Newcastle scored two extra time goals to quash any such idea and went on to win 3-2 before eventually winning the Championship.

3. Brisbane Roar 2-1 Western Sydney Wanderers 2013-14, Grand Final (04/05/2014)

Second time wasn’t the charm for the Wanderers thanks to an 86th minute equaliser from Besart Berisha. Heading into extra time hopes were still high, until Henrique scored on the 108th minute to shatter the dreams of the Western Sydney fans.

2. Brisbane Roar 2-1 Perth Glory 2011-12, Grand Final (22/04/2012)

Heading into the final 10 minutes of the game, Perth Glory were holding on to a 1-0 lead. Enter Besart Berisha who scored the equaliser in the 84th and the winning penalty in the seventh minute of stoppage time. It’s a heavily debated issue whether or not Berisha dived for the spot kick, regardless Brisbane were champions again.

1. Brisbane Roar 2-2 Central Coast Mariners (4-2 penalties) 2010-11, Grand Final (13/03/2011)

It seems like Brisbane can’t win a Grand Final without a thrilling ending. After 90 minutes of nothing, the two sides went to extra time where the Mariners led 2-0 at the 116th minute mark. Two goals in the final three minutes from Roar sent the game to penalties, which Brisbane won 4-2. The game was packed full of excitement and disappointment.