Ange names Roos squad to face Japan

Socceroos coach Ange Postecoglou has named his Australia squad to take on Japan in next week's friendly ahead of January's Asian Cup, including some A-League bolters. 

Aaron Mooy, Terry Antonis, Matt McKay and Mitch Nichols are among the local league players to get a call from Postecoglou for the clash as the Socceroos coach searches for the X-Factor to turn Asutralia's fortunes around.

The squad contains no uncapped players but recalls for Hyundai A-League stars Matt McKay, Mitch Nichols, Terry Antonis and Aaron Mooy, who have all started the 2014/15 season in strong form for their respective clubs.

McKay will be making his first appearance for the Socceroos since undergoing surgery after the 2014 FIFA World Cup while Antonis, Mooy and Nichols have an opportunity to push their claims for a place in the squad for the AFC Asian Cup 2015 Australia.

Postecoglou has made five changes to the squad that played the UAE and Qatar with McKay, Nichols, Antonis, Mooy and Robbie Kruse coming in for Adam Federici, Bernie Ibini, Tomi Juric and Brad Smith. Tommy Oar was not considered due to a minor injury.

“The Japan match is the final hit out before the Asian Cup and we’ll have a good week of training leading into the game so we can continue to work on what we’ve been trying to achieve before we take on a tough opponent in Japan,” Postecoglou said.

“The squad we’ve selected has a core group of players we have been working with over the last 12 months but it still gives an opportunity to a few more younger players who have started the season well in the A-League.”

The Socceroos will start assembling in Osaka on Monday 11 November ahead of the match on 18 November.

The 23-man Socceroos squad is:

Terry Antonis
Sydney FC, Australia
Aziz Behich
Bursaspor, Turkey
Mark Bresciano
Al Gharafa, Qatar
Joshua Brillante
ACF Fiorentina, Italy
Tim Cahill
New York Red Bulls, USA
Jason Davidson
West Bromwich Albion F.C., England
Ivan Franjic
FK Torpedo Moskva, Russia
Chris Herd
Aston Villa, England
James Holland
FK Austria Vienna, Austria
Mile Jedinak
Crystal Palace FC, England
Robbie Kruse
TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Germany
Mitchell Langerak (gk)
B.V. Borussia 09 Dortmund, Germany
Mathew Leckie
FC Ingolstadt 04, Germany
Massimo Luongo
Swindon Town FC, England
Matt McKay
Brisbane Roar, Australia
Mark Milligan
Melbourne Victory FC, Australia
Mitch Nichols
Perth Glory, Australia
Aaron Mooy
Melbourne City, Australia
Mat Ryan (gk)
Club Brugge KV, Belgium
Trent Sainsbury
P.E.C. Zwolle, Netherlands
Nikolai Topor-Stanley
Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia
James Troisi
S.V. Zulte Waregem, Belgium
Alex Wilkinson
Jeonbuk Hyundai FC, Korea Republic


Japan v Australia

18 November 2014

Yanmar Stadium Nagai, Osaka

Kick-Off 7.20pm (9.20pm AEDT)