Bentleigh Greens crowned Victorian champions

Bentleigh Greens have won the 2015 Victorian National Premier League Grand Final with a 3-1 extra-time win over South Melbourne at Lakeside Stadium on Sunday.

Troy Ruthven opened the scoring for Bentleigh with a stunning long-range strike on 52 minutes. Milos Lujic equalized for South Melbourne in the 73rd minute. 

Iqi Jawadi was sent off in regulation stoppage-time after a second yellow card to leave South undermanned for the extra period.

Wayne Wallace tapped home from a free-kick to put Bentleigh ahead 10 minutes into extra-time, before Chris Lucas scored the sealer at the death to cue the celebrations.

Gallery: Match action 

Winning coach John Anastasiadis said: “I thought today we were the dominant side from the first whistle.

“Throughout the first 90 the game should have been done and dusted then.

“South are a team that always find a way. In the end Bentleigh Greens deserved the win.”

Photo: Bentleigh Greens