Burns takes out Johnny Warren Medal

Wellington Phoenix attacker Nathan Burns took out the Johnny Warren Medal by a long way at the A-League's awards night on Monday.

The Socceroo took out the prestigious award, voted on by the players, with 577 votes.

Adelaide United attacking midfielder Marcelo Carrusca (366 votes) and Melbourne Victory star Fahid Ben Khalfallah (307) were a long way back.

Burns, in his first full season back in Australia after stints overseas, netted 13 goals for the Phoenix in 2014-15.

He impressed particularly early in the campaign before a drop in form for Ernie Merrick's men, who saw their finals series end in the elimination finals.

Burns is the first Australian player to win the award since 2007-08, when Newcastle Jets striker Joel Griffiths clinched it.

He is the second Phoenix player to secure it, adding to Shane Smeltz's 2008-09 win.

Ben Khalfallah was tipped to win the award but fell well short.

His team-mate Kosta Barbarouses (277 votes) was fourth, ahead of Adelaide's Sergio Cirio (245).

Newcastle Jet Emily van Egmond took out the W-League's highest honour – the Julie Dolan Medal.

Other award winners included:
A-League Coach of the Year: Kevin Muscat (Melbourne Victory)
A-League Golden Boot: Marc Janko (Sydney FC)
A-League Goalkeeper of the Year: Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United)
Young Footballer of the Year: James Jeggo (Adelaide United)
A-League Goal of the Year: Tarek Elrich (Adelaide United)
A-League Referee of the Year: Jarred Gillett
W-League Coach of the Year: Peter McGuinness (Newcastle Jets)
W-League Golden Boot: Kathryn Gill (Perth Glory)
W-League Goalkeeper of the Year: Mackenzie Arnold (Perth Glory)
W-League Young Player of the Year: Amy Harrison (Sydney FC)
W-League Players' Player of the Year: Sam Kerr (Perth Glory)
W-League Goal of the Year: Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United)
W-League Referee of the Year: Kate Jacewicz