FFA Cup: Round of 32 match details released

Football Federation Australia has announced the full details for the 16 matches to be played in the Round of 32 of the inaugural Westfield FFA Cup, beginning on Tuesday 29 July 2014.

Northern NSW NPL club Broadmeadow Magic will host former NSL club Brisbane Strikers on the opening night of the competition at Magic Park in Newcastle, with the fixture to be broadcast live on Fox Sports.

The other three matches to be played simultaneously on 29 July with live crosses on Fox Sports will feature a derby between Manly United and Sydney Olympic – the only same State clash in the Round of 32 – plus the battle of the ‘Souths’ as Victorian State League 1 South East club South Springvale host South Cardiff from the Northern NSW NPL.

The fourth encounter sees two-time NSL champions Melbourne Knights venture north to tackle Queensland NPL outfit Olympic FC.

Two of the three all Hyundai A-League match ups – Newcastle Jets v Perth Glory and Wellington Phoenix v Adelaide United – will be played on the second scheduled match day (Tuesday, August 5), together with Parramatta FC at home to St Albans Saints and Capital Football’s sole entrant Tuggeranong United making the journey down to Tasmania to face South Hobart.

The FFA Cup competition’s regulations stipulates that all fixtures the must be played in Australia. Accordingly, Wellington Phoenix’s match against Adelaide United will be held at the Marden Sports Complex in Adelaide.

There will be two fixtures in NSW in Week 3 with Blacktown City entertaining Bentleigh Greens and Sydney United 58 FC up against FNQ Heat, while Adelaide City hosts AFC Champions League Quarter Finalists Western Sydney Wanderers, with Melbourne City taking on Sydney FC in the remaining all Hyundai A-League encounter.

Due to both Football West clubs being drawn to host Hyundai A-League semi-finalists, the remaining fixtures in the Round of 32 will be spread across two nights.

Stirling Lions will face Brisbane Roar and Hakoah Sydney City will be at home to Gold Coast based Palm Beach Sharks on Tuesday 19 August, before Bayswater City meet Melbourne Victory and the Central Coast Mariners make the trip to Wollongong’s WIN Stadium to face the South Coast Wolves the following night.

Fox Sports, the official broadcast partner of the Westfield FFA Cup, is committed to broadcasting at least one match in the Round of 32, but has the option to cover further matches on top of its full LIVE broadcast of the Broadmeadow Magic v Brisbane Strikers clash, with single camera coverage at the three other matches played on the opening night of the competition.

At the conclusion of the Round of 32 matches, Fox Sports will conduct another live draw to determine the Round of 16 fixtures.

Ticketing information for the Round of 32 matches will be released soon. Visit www.theffacup.com.au for details.

Westfield FFA Cup 2014 - Round of 32 Match Details

Tuesday, 29 July 2014* 

Broadmeadow Magic (NNSW) v Brisbane Strikers (Qld)  

Magic Park, Newcastle, 7:30pm

Tuesday, 29 July 2014    

South Springvale (Vic) v South Cardiff (NNSW)

Kingston Heath, Melbourne, 7:30pm       

Tuesday, 29 July 2014    

Manly United (NSW) v Sydney Olympic (NSW)  

Cromer Park, Manly,  7:30pm       

Tuesday, 29 July 2014    

Olympic FC (Qld) v Melbourne Knights (Vic)        

Goodwin Park, Brisbane, 7:30pm

Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Parramatta FC (NSW) v  St Albans Saints (Vic)

Melita Stadium, Parramatta, 7:30pm

Tuesday, 5 August 2014

South Hobart (Tas) v Tuggeranong United (ACT)               

KGV Park, Hobart, 7:30pm

Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Newcastle Jets v Perth Glory

TBC 7:30pm

Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Adelaide United v Wellington Phoenix

Marden Sports Complex, Adelaide 7:30pm (AEST 8:00pm)        

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Adelaide City v Western Sydney Wanderers

TBC 7:30pm (AEST 8:00pm)

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Blacktown City (NSW) v Bentleigh Greens (Vic)

Lilys Football Centre, Blacktown, 7:30pm

Tuesday, 12 August 2014             

Sydney United 58 FC (NSW)v FNQ Heat (Qld)

Sydney United Sports Centre, 7:30pm   

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Melbourne City v Sydney FC

TBC 7:30pm       

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

Stirling Lions v Brisbane Roar

Macedonia Park, Perth, 7:30pm (AEST 9:30pm)

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

Hakoah Sydney City v Palm Beach Sharks

Hensley Athletic Field, Sydney, 7:30pm

Wednesday, 20 August 2014

South Coast Wolves v Central Coast Mariners

WIN Stadium, Wollongong 7:30pm          

Wednesday, 20 August 2014

Bayswater City  v Melbourne Victory

TBC 7:30pm (AEST 9:30pm)      

* Broadcast LIVE on Fox Sports