Five released as City looks to next season

Melbourne City has began it's post-season rebuilding with five players being told they are no longer needed by the club.

Aaron Hughes, James Brown, Jason Trifiro, Marc Marino and Wade Dekker will move on from Melbourne City as the club begins it's recruitment drive for the 2016/17 Hyundai A-League season and attempts to build on their semi-final finish this season.

Assistant Coaches Ivan Jolic and Luciano Trani have also been let go.

It's not all exits from City however with the clubs goalkeeping stocks being booned by the re-signing of former Western Sydney Wanderers stopper Dean Bouzanis, who joined the club in January.

Bouzanis, 25, has signed a one-year contract extension until the conclusion of the 2016/17 season.