A-League Grand Final to shatter viewing records

The A-League 2014 Grand Final will be the most watched club match in the history of Australian football with a global reach of more than 250 million people.

Sunday’s epic decider between Brisbane Roar and Western Sydney Wanderers will be broadcast live to 57 countries, streamed live internationally and for the first time shown on free-to-air coverage.

In addition to the sell-out crowd at Suncorp, football fans in major European, North American and Asian markets including Italy, the UK, Ireland, USA, China, Singapore, Mexico and South Africa will be able to watch the action as it happens.

The game will also be available on live streaming via www.aleague.livesport.tv, an internet TV subscription service for users outside of Australia and Oceania.

SBS TV gives delayed free-to-air coverage to all households for the first time. Fox Sports live coverage stars on FOX SPORTS 2HD at 3pm. SBS TV starts at 4pm on SBS 2.

In addition to the full match broadcasts, highlights of the Grand Final will be seen in 53 countries throughout Asia and the Middle East, including Japan and South Korea, on the Australian Broadcasting Corporation’s Australian Network.

FFA CEO David Gallop said it was a sign of the A-League’s exceptional growth that the global audience reach for the Grand Final is forecast to exceed 250 million people.

“The 2014 Grand Final will be the greatest showcase for Australian football ever seen, thanks to the domestic and international broadcast and internet deals we’ve done over the past year with our agent World Sports Group,” Gallop said.

“The presence of marquee players has been the catalyst, but it’s the quality of play and entertainment value that has convinced broadcasters at home and abroad to invest in our rights.

“We have opened the eyes of the world to the Hyundai A-League and now fans worldwide they can watch all of our stars in action on a weekly basis, including Sunday’s blockbuster in Brisbane.”

In the latest deal Ten Sports, one of the Indian subcontinent’s largest sports broadcasters, has secured broadcast of the A-League and the FFA Cup for the next three seasons.

Ten will broadcast a minimum 86 matches of each season of the HAL and minimum 10 matches each season of the FFA Cup. The broadcast territories are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

FFA has an agreement with World Sport Group (WSG) to market the worldwide broadcast and digital rights for the Hyundai A-League until the end of the 2016/17 season.

Brisbane Roar will play the Western Sydney Wanderers at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, this Sunday 4 May (4pm kick off).