Matildas unveil Olympic squad

The Matildas 18-player squad has been named for the 2016 Rio Olympics as the Australians look to create more history on the world stage.

Proceeding through the Qualifiers undefeated in Japan, the Australians embark on a challenge facing Canada, Germany and Zimbabwe in the Group Stage and will be played over three day turnarounds.

Previously missing out on the past two tournaments, it will be just the Matildas third appearance at the Olympics, the only player in the squad to have previous experience in the Olympics is Lisa De Vanna.

The team will be led by Co-Captains De Vanna and Claire Polkinghorne as well as the inclusion of 16-year-old Ellie Carpenter and 21-year-old Chloe Logarzo up and coming stars in the squad. Larissa Crummer, who was named W-League Young Footballer of the year award was also named. 

The experienced Sam Kerr was also included in the squad, the 22-year-old picked up a foot injury late last year has not played for Matildas since their 1-0 loss to England in October last year.

Should the Australians be successful in accumulating a medal, it would be the first for either male or female to win a football award at the Olympics.

18-player Squad:

1. Lydia Williams (GK)

2. Larissa Crummer

3. Ellie Carpenter

4. Clare Polkinghorne (C)

5. Laura Alleway

6. Chloe Logarzo

7. Stephanie Catley

8. Elise Kellond-Knight

9. Caitlin Foord

10. Emily van Egmond

11. Lisa De Vanna (C)

12. Samantha Kerr

13. Tameka Butt

14. Alanna Kennedy

15. Katrina Gorry

16. Michelle Heyman

17. Kyah Simon

18. Mackenzie Arnold (GK)


Wednesday 3 August: Canada vs Australia (Corinthians Arena, Sao Paulo)

Saturday 6 August: Germany vs Australia (Corinthians Arena, Sao Paulo)

Tuesday 9 August: Australia vs Zimbabwe (Fonte Nova Arena, Salvador)