McKay wins Roar's top gong

Brisbane Roar captain Matt McKay has taken out the club’s highest club honour – named the Gary Wilkins Medallist for the second time at the club’s awards night at Sirromet Winery on Wednesday night.

The 32-year-old, first won the award in the 2006/07 campaign, and Queensland football legend Wilkins was on hand to present McKay his second.

“Matty is the type of player who leads by example, he gives his all in every game and in every training session,” Wilkins said.

“His commitment to this club is 100 per cent and any player to win this award needs to show all of this and more. Matt is a deserved winner of this year’s medal.”

Teenage teammate Brandon Borrello was recognised for his breakthrough season, awarded the Players’ Player award as voted by his peers, to add to his January nomination for NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

Defender and foundation player Kim Carroll won the club’s Westfield W-League Player of the Year.

“One of the reasons Kim wins this award because of the level of consistency she performed at throughout the season,” Brisbane Roar W-League Head Coach Belinda Wilson said.

“But also, just as importantly, this award is for what she showed off the pitch and at training, the ability to help keep the group together in what was a tough year for us.”

Roar W-League captain Clare Polkinghorne, who is currently in Canada for the FIFA Women’s World Cup, won the Players’ Player award as voted by her teammates.

Henrique’s eight goals in 16 appearances this season earned him the club’s Golden Boot award, with Tameka Butt taking out the club’s Westfield W-League equivalent with seven goals in the 2014/15 season.

The #RoarUltimateXI, celebrating the club’s team of the decade, was also announced.

Voted by members and fans, the team features club greats across 10 years of the A-League and included current players McKay, Thomas Broich, Michael Theo, Luke Brattan, Henrique and Shane Stefanutto and former players Ivan Franjic, Matt Smith, Craig Moore, Besart Berisha and Sergio van Dijk.

The club’s final award, the Members’ Player of the Year, will be announced at an open training session this Saturday at Ballymore Stadium. Training will begin at 8.30am with the presentation at approximately 9.45am.

The club’s Foxtel National Youth League awards will be presented at a separate function next week.


Gary Wilkins Medal – Matt McKay

Westfield W-League Player of the Year – Kim Carroll

Hyundai A-League Players’ Player of the Year – Brandon Borrello

Westfield W-League Players’ Player of the Year - Clare Polkinghorne

Hyundai A-League Golden Boot - Henrique (8 goals)

Westfield W-League Golden Boot – Tameka Butt (7 goals)


Goalkeeper – Michael Theo

Defenders – Shane Stefanutto, Craig Moore, Matt Smith, Ivan Franjic

Midfielders – Thomas Broich, Luke Brattan, Matt McKay

Strikers – Besart Berisha, Henrique, Sergio van Dijk