PFA names Footballer of the Year nominees

Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) has announced their nominees for the 2014/15 PFA Footballer of the Year.

Of the nine players in the running only one, Fahid Ben Khalfallah of Melbourne Victory, is still playing in the A-League.

The award has previously been won by the likes of Socceroos Mark Schwarzer, Mile Jedinak and Robbie Kruse.

Nominees were selected by an awards committee made up of national team greats and leading figures in the Australian football media.

Award nominee the 2014/15 PFA Footballer of the Year are:

Tim Cahill

Mark Milligan

Fahid Ben Khalfallah

Trent Sainsbury

Mat Ryan

Marc Janko

Nathan Burns

Alex Wilkinson

Massimo Luongo

The winner will be determined by a vote of all of the PFA’s male members.

PFA President Matt McKay said the nominees had all enjoyed stellar 2014/15 seasons.

“Last season saw the nation become champions of Asia for club and country, the A-League continued to rise in quality and our members abroad excelled in some of the toughest leagues in the world,” McKay said.

“With this in mind it would have been an extremely difficult task for the awards committee to come up with the nominees.

“The nine nominees were instrumental in what was a fantastic year for the game and highlight the quality of players playing in Australia and the country’s footballers plying their trade abroad.”

PFA Chief Executive Adam Vivian said the nominees were deserving of this recognition.

“On behalf of all our members I would like to congratulate the nominees on this well-deserved honour,” Vivian said.

“Some of the country’s finest ever players have won the PFA Footballer of the Year award and it is hugely encouraging to see another crop of outstanding footballers vying to be the 2014/15 recipient.”