Socceroos squad named for Tajikistan and Jordan

The Caltex Socceroos squad for the upcoming qualifiers against Tajikistan and Jordan have been announced with a few fresh faces added to the mix.

Jason Geria, Alex Gersbach and Apostolos Giannou are amongst those who have been uncapped by Australia, as Ange Postecoglou announced the side at Vanilla Lounge, Oakleigh.

The majority of the squad ply their trade overseas, with Josh Risdon, Aaron Mooy and the uncapped Geria the only exceptions.

Tim Cahill is five goals short of notching his 50th Socceroos goal and on home soil it could be a possibility.

Giannou is arguably the most interesting selection however, having played youth football for Greece, and if selected will be cap-tied to the Socceroos for life.

The Socceroos will take on Tajikistan in Adelaide on March 24th before facing off against Jordan at Allianz Stadium five days later.

Caltex Socceroos squad for 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers v Tajikistan and Jordan

Terry Antonis, Nathan Burns, Tim Cahill, Adam Federici, Jason Geria, Alex Gersbach, Apostolos Giannou, Chris Ikonomidis, Mile Jedinak, Robbie Kruse, Mitch Langerak, Matthew Leckie, Massimo Luongo, Ryan McGowan, Mark Milligan, Aaron Mooy, Josh Risdon, Tom Rogic, Mathew Ryan, Trent Sainsbury, Brad Smith, Matthew Spiranovic, Bailey Wright.