Dollah picks fresh faces for Bangladesh match

Dollah Salleh has dropped a host of star players for Malaysia’s upcoming friendly match against Bangladesh.

The Harimau Malaya head coach has opted for youth and playing form in naming his squad for the match against Bangladesh, which will be played at the Shah Alam Stadium on August 29.

Only 11 players from the 6-0 mauling by Palestine last June remain in the latest squad, with the likes of Farizal Marlias, Safee Sali, Mahali Jasuli and Indra Putra Mahayuddin not surviving the cut.

Kelantan’s Amiridzdwan Taj Tajuddin and Norfarhan Muhammad have returned to the national set-up for the first time since they last represented the country against Yemen and Tajikistan respectively in 2014.

Harimau Muda B defender Che Rashid Che Halim, Kedah talisman Baddrol Bakhtiar, Kelantan winger Wan Zack Haikal Wan Nor and Terengganu striker Norshahrul Idlan Talaha have also been re-called to the team, having last been involved in Malaysia’s 6-0 defeat to Oman in March.

Meanwhile, four Pahang players – Khairul Azhan Khalid, Razman Roslan, Matthew Davies and Azammuddin Akil – will report for duty on a later date due to the Elephants’ 2015 AFC Cup commitment.

Only 23 names from the squad against Bangladesh and the aforementioned Pahang players will be picked for the World Cup qualifying match against United Arab Emirates on August 31.


Goalkeepers: Zamir Selamat (Perak), Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (Kelantan)

Defenders: Afif Amiruddin (PDRM), Yong Kuong Yong (Penang), Zubir Azmi (Terengganu), Nazirul Naim Che Hashim (Harimau Muda B), S. Kunanlan (JDT), Idris Ahmad (Perak), Amiridzwan Taj Tajuddin (Kelantan)

Midfielders: Baddrol Bakhtiar (Kedah), Joseph Kalang Tie (Sarawak), Ahmad Syamim Yahya (Felda United), Safiq Rahim (JDT), Nasir Basharrudin (Perak), Nurridzuan Abu Hassan (Perak), Wan Zack Haikal Wan Nor (Kelantan)

Forwards: Norshahrul Idlan Talaha (Terengganu), Ahmad Hazwan Bakri (Selangor), Amri Yahyah (JDT), Nor Farhan Muhammad (Kelantan), S. Kumaahran (Harimau Muda B), Syahrul Azwari Ibrahim (Harimau Muda B)