Fandi, Sundram, Duric and more to face Liverpool and Arsenal Masters

Former stars from English Premier League giants Liverpool and Arsenal were already descending on Singapore for the latest Battle of the Masters in November.

We are part of The Trust Project What is it?

Now, fans will have some hometown heroes to cheer for following the announcement that a team of Singapore Masters will also join the fray at the National Stadium.

The legendary Fandi Ahmad, current national team coach V Sundram Moorthy, the S.League’s all-time record goalscorer Aleksandar Duric and many more will don the Singapore shirt once more in a round-robin format.

We were unlucky in the last match back in 2014. So we’re looking forward to challenging them again

- Aleksandar Duric

Aide Iskandar, Rafi Ali, Malek Awab and Noh Rahman are among the other names that will make up the Lions’ squad.

The last time the Singapore Masters formed was when they took on the Liverpool Masters in Duric’s testimonial match at Jalan Besar Stadium back in 2014, which the home side lost 3-1.

“It’s a great opportunity for all of us to come together to both relive and create new memories,” Duric said.

“We did give them a run for their money, but we were unlucky in the last match back in 2014.

“So we’re looking forward to challenging them again.”

Fandi and Sundram will play alongside each other once more. Photo: Weixiang Lim/FFT

Champions League winners John Arne Riise, Steve McManaman and Luis Garcia will be part of the Reds’ line-up, along with England World Cup representative and former Liverpool keeper David James.

For the Gunners, Robert Pires, Ray Parlour, Gilberto Silva, Nigel Winterburn and Mikael Silvestre will be on show.

Tickets for Battle of the Masters presented by Masters Football Asia are available from and Sports Hub Tix at

Tickets start from $20, family packages (two adults & two children below the age of 12) are available from $88 and VIP Packages are $200.

FourFourTwo readers can also receive a 15% discount on Cat 1, Cat 2 and VIP tickets by using the code 442BOTM on the Sports Hub Tix site (not applicable for family and concession tickets).

There are also more great prizes on offer for ticketholders – including the chance to warm up with the teams and sit on the team bench – so head to Masters Football Asia’s Facebook and Instagram pages for more details.

Team list (as of 5 July) *all players subject to availability

Liverpool Masters

David James, Steve McManaman, John Arne Riise, Luis Garcia

Arsenal Masters

Ray Parlour, Robert Pires, Nigel Winterburn, Gilberto Silva, Mikael Silvestre

Singapore Masters

Fandi Ahmad, V Sundram Moorthy, Aide Iskandar, Aleksandar Duric, Rezal Hassan, Shahri Rahim, Zulkarnean Zainal, Rafi Ali, Nazri Nazri, Steven Tan, Malek Awab, Dalis Supait, Alam Shah, Indra Shadan, Noh Rahman, Fahmie Abdullah, Lee Man Hon