Pahang’s 2006 FA Cup winners: Where are they now?

Long before Johor Darul Ta'zim had a star-studded side, Pahang were once labelled as the 'galacticos' of Malaysia. They won the inaugural 2004 Malaysia Super League title (MSL) and later capped a successful era with a triumph in the 2006 FA Cup. Where are the members of the side that defeated Perlis 4-2 on penalties in the final?

We are part of The Trust Project What is it?


A product of Pahang, Iqbal went on to make a rare international appearance a couple of years after winning the Cup.

He left Pahang ahead of the 2009 season and has had stints with Proton, Selangor, T-Team, ATM and Sarawak.

He was part of the Selangor side that won the 2010 MSL title.

Iqbal sat out of the 2017 season after Sarawak released him at the end of the previous season, but the Crocs came calling again for the 2018 after they were relegated to second tier.


Among the best defenders in the country when he signed for Pahang in 2005, Zamani marshalled the Elephants backline until 2009, where he moved to KL Plus.

Zamani joined Negeri in 2011 after returning from injury and stayed with the club for a further three seasons, including one year in the Malaysia Premier League, before returning to the top-flight with Kelantan in 2015.

Once a stalwart for the national team, Zamani remained loyal with the Red Warriors during a tough period that saw the club run into financial troubles.

The 36-year-old moved to Penang this year after being deemed surplus to requirements.



Arriving from New Zealand Knights, the centre-back returned to the club after just one season with Pahang.

His return to the Knights didn't last long as the Australian moved to Ireland in July 2007, signing for Drogheda United. He won the league there in his first season and moved to Azerbaijan's Neftchi Baku in 2009.

Tambouras briefly played for North Queensland Fury in the A-League before a move to China in March 2010, where he was released three months later after only playing twice.

He is currently a youth coach in Australia.


Irwan was already part of the national team when he joined Pahang in 2006.

He later had stints with UPB-MyTeam and KL Plus (both now defunct) before winning the 2011 Malaysia Cup with Negeri Sembilan.

Irwan moved to ATM in 2012, where he was part of the backbone B. Satiananthan relied on to win the MPL and reach the Malaysia Cup final that year. He returned to Negeri in 2015, after the club were relegated to the second tier, before being released at the end of his contract.

He failed to secure a new club for two seasons before inking a deal with Felda United for the 2018 season at the age of 36.

Photo: Sinar Harian


Pahang need to thank him for the 2006 trophy because had he not cleared the ball after Igbal was beaten by Manzoor Azwira's attempt, the match wouldn't have gone to penalties.

Shahril stayed with Pahang for 10 seasons before stints with Kedah, Sabah and T-Team. He was last seen playing for Real Mulia in 2015 but the club has closed shop a couple of seasons ago.


The Australian midfielder only had one season with Pahang and his performance in the final was nothing really to shout about.

The former Australian Institute of Sports (AIS) trainee returned to Australia to sign for Perth Glory but the move only lasted one season as he then joined Sydney FC.

Prentice attracted controversy off the pitch after being found guilty on two counts of assault following an attack on a customer at a fast food restaurant in Perth.

He retired in 2010, well before he hit 30, and is currently a youth coach in Western Australia.


Fadzli returned to Pahang in 2002 after a German stint at SV Wehen and his rise in the MSL brought to giants Selangor in 2006.

He had two spells in Selangor until 2012, but never during championship winning seasons as Fadzli had moved to KL Plus when the Red Giants lifted back-to-back titles in 2009 and 2010.

Fadzli donned the national colours over 30 times but found himself down the pecking order by the end of 2008.

He had stints with T-Team, Sime Darby and ATM before retiring at Felca in 2017. He is currently as assistant coach at Felcra and an active member of the Professional Footballers Association of Malaysia (PFAM).