Badhri Radzi in Malaysia squad

Datuk Ong Kim Swee reveals his 23-man squad for the friendly match against the Philippines, which includes Kelantan's Captain Marvel.

National interim coach Datuk Ong Kim Swee has revealed his squad of 23 players that will be involved in Malaysia’s friendly match against the Philippines on April 27th.

Kelantan captain Bahdri Radzi, who was almost always left out by former coach Datuk K. Rajagopal, has received another call-up after featuring in OKS’ previous squad last March.

As expected, Johor Darul Takzim (JDT) dominate the list with seven players being called up, including striker Safee Sali and former captain Safiq Rahim, but Norshahrul Idlan Talaha, one of the regulars in the national team, has not been called up.

‘Mat Yo’ has not been in top gear for JDT this season, but the decision made by OKS might be influenced by Norshahrul’s action the last time he was called up to play for Harimau Malaya.

The striker initially did not report for international duty due to personal reasons before retracting that decision and joining the rest of the team.

Sarawak duo Ronny Harun and Junior Eldstal have been given a chance to impress while league leaders Pahang have four representatives in the national squad, including goalkeeper Khairul Azhan and defender Razman Roslan.

Meanwhile, Pulau Pinang player Yong Kuong Yong has been given a surprise call-up on the standby list, which will be a huge boost for the winger.

Here is the full list of names that OKS has called up for the match against the Philippines:

  1. Mahali Jasuli
  2. Aidil Zafuan
  3. Fadhli Shas
  4. Amri Yahyah
  5. Safiq Rahim
  6. Asraruddin Putra
  7. Safee Sali
  8. Baddrol Bakhtiar
  9. Khairul Fahmi Che Mat
  10. Fakhri Saarani
  11. Badhri Radzi
  12. Khairul Azahan
  13. Razman Roslan
  14. Azamuddin Akil
  15. Hafiz Kamal
  16. Bobby Gonzalez
  17. Ronny Harun
  18. Junior Eldstal
  19. Farizal Marlias
  20. Bunyamin Umar
  21. S. Kunanlan
  22. Zubir Azmi
  23. Norfarhan Mohamad

Standby List

  1. Izham Tarmizi
  2. S. Subramaniam
  3. Nazmi Faiz
  4. Yong Kuang Yong