Dollah Salleh unveils 35-man preliminary squad

Kedah's latest teen sensation, Farhan Roslan, is the biggest surprise pick in national head coach Dollah Salleh's preliminary pick for the upcoming 2014 AFF Suzuki Cup.

The uncapped 17-year-old, who was promoted from the Kedah President's Cup squad earlier this year, has been in a fine form in the 2014 Oppo Malaysia Cup, helping the Canaries to reach the semi-finals.

He was picked ahead of Terengganu winger Ashaari Shamsuddin, who joined the likes of Selangor defender Shahrom Kalam, JDT full-back Asraruddin Putra, PDRM striker Bobby Gonzales, and recently departed Sarawak midfielder Junior Eldstal in missing out on the tournament.

Australian-born midfielder Brendan Gan was called up as well to stand a chance to play for the senior team for the first time, having missed the opportunity after an October friendly with the Philippines was cancelled.

Other notable inclusions in the 35-man preliminary squad were Muslim Ahmad (PDRM), Shukor Adan (Felda United) and Indra Putra Mahayuddin (Felda United), who all have been enjoying something of an international renaissance since Dollah Salleh took charge.

The national head coach has to trim his squad down to 22 players before Malaysia kick off their Suzuki Cup campaign against Myanmar in Singapore on November 23rd.

Here is the full provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Farizal Marlias (Selangor), Khairul Azhan Khalid (Pahang), Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (Kelantan)

Defenders: Afif Amiruddin (PDRM), Aidil Zafuan Abdul Radzak (JDT), Azmi Muslim (Selangor), Bunyamin Umar (Selangor), Fadhli Shas (JDT), Mahali Jasuli (JDT), Muslim Ahmad (PDRM), Razman Roslan (Pahang), Shukor Adan (Felda United), Zubir Azmi (Terengganu)

Midfielders: Ahmad Ezrie Shafizie Sazali (PDRM), Azamuddin Akil (Pahang), Baddrol Bakhtiar (Kedah), Badhri Radzi (Kelantan), Brendan Gan (Kelantan), Fakri Saarani (Kelantan), Farhan Roslan (Kedah), Gary Steven Robbat (Harimau Muda A), Hafiz Kamal (Pahang), Indra Putra Mahayuddin (Felda United), Joseph Kalang Tie (Sarawak), R. Gopinathan (Pahang), Safiq Rahim (JDT), S. Chanturu (Sarawak), S. Kunanlan (Selangor), Wan Zaharulnizam Wan Zakaria (Kelantan)

Forwards: Abdul Manaf Mamat (Terengganu), Amri Yahyah (JDT), Fauzi Roslan (Pahang), Nor Farhan Muhammad (Terengganu), Norshahrul Idlan Talaha (JDT), Safee Sali (JDT)