Hazwan is Malaysia's 2016 MVP

Ahmad Hazwan Bakri was crowned the Most Valuable Player at the 2016 Malaysia Football Awards on Friday.

In what is perhaps the only silver lining for Selangor's pathetic 2016 season, their forward Ahmad Hazwan Bakri was named the country's best by coaches, the press and fellow players.
Hazwan, who has just moved to Malaysia Super League (MSL) champions Johor Darul Ta'zim (JDT), was also picked as the Best Striker.
Hazwan also established himself as Malaysia's first choice forward in Ong Kim Swee's Tigers. Selangor had a poor season, finishing fifth in top flight and failed to defend the Malaysia Cup.
T-Team's 2016 breakout player Safawi Rasid, another new signing of JDT, was named Most Promising Player for his rise in the country's top-flight.
Last year's MVP Safiq Rahim did not go back home empty handed as well, winning the Best Midfielder ahead the likes of Baddrol Bakhtiar, Syazwan Zainon and Hadin Azman.
Safiq and club-mate Jorge Pereyra Diaz were the only JDT players to pick up awards, stark comparison to 2015 where the Southern Tigers almost secured a clean sweep of awards.
Diaz was named Best Import but he will not remain with JDT next year.
Roll of Honour
Most Valuable Player – Ahmad Hazwan Bakri (Selangor)
Best Striker – Ahmad Hazwan Bakri (Selangor)
Best Midfielder – Safiq Rahim (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
Best Defender– Rizal Ghazali (Kedah)
Best Goalkeeper – Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (Kelantan)
Best Coach – Tan Cheng Hoe (Kedah)
Best Import – Jorge Pereyra Diaz (Johor Darul Ta’zim)
Most Promising Player– Safawi Rasid (T-Team)
Fairplay– Negeri Sembilan
Best Women's Player – Dandree Rofinus (MISC-MIFA)
Best Team– Johor Darul Ta’zim
Best Fans - Melaka
Best Social Media– Johor Southern Tigers
Best Website– Johor Southern Tigers
Special Award – Mohd Faiz Subri (FIFA Puskas Award)