JDT knocked out of Malaysia Cup as quarter-final fixtures confirmed

Following a 1-1 draw at PKNS in the groupstage finale on Saturday, the Malaysian giants missed out on the Malaysia Cup last eight as the Red Ants accompany PDRM into the knockout stages. 

Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) will not feature in the Malaysia Cup knock-out stages after a second-string side only managed a 1-1 draw away to PKNS on Saturday – the Southern Tigers’ fourth draw in the round-robin.

Mario Gomez rested a host of players – including all four imports and skipper Safiq Rahim – ahead of the club’s Malaysia Super League clash against second-placed Felda United, a match that could give JDT a massive push to a third straight Malaysia Super League (MSL) title.

PKNS, who JDT defeated in the FA Cup final back in May, took the lead through Matias Jadue after just two minutes. Safee Sali equalised before the break but JDT, who have repeatedly played down the importance of the Malaysia Cup, could not find a second goal.

Malaysia Premier League (MPL) side PKNS therefore finished second in the group to set a last-eight clash with Selangor, who were held by Kuala Lumpur 1-1 but still topped Group B after Kelantan were stunned 2-0 by Pahang in Kuantan.

PDRM finished top of Group C after defeating Perak 2-1 at Hang Jebat Stadium. Perak only needed a draw to progress due to their superior goal difference count but the Cops went two up courtesy of goals from mid-season signing Guilherme De Paula and Fakhrul Aiman Sidid.

The Bos Gaurus pulled one back via Elias Oliveira but were unable to find that all important equaliser.

Fauzi Pilus’ side finished the group stage with 10 points followed by PKNS on eight. Perak and JDT managed seven. PDRM play Kelantan in the quarter-final.

On Friday, Kedah confirmed top spot in Group A with a 3-0 win over Sarawak in Kuching while T-Team, who had already qualified, settled for second following 1-0 defeat to JDT II in Pasir Gudang.

Kedah play Negeri Sembilan, who defeated a second-string Felda United in Group D to progress. while T-Team play MSL title contenders Felda in the next round.

The first-leg takes place on August 27 and 28 and the four group winners – Kedah, Selangor, PDRM and Felda United – host the return-leg on September 17 and 18.

Photo: JDT