JDT seal record-breaking third straight MSL title

Johor Darul Ta'zim (JDT) secured a third straight Malaysia Super League (MSL) title with 3-0 win over Terengganu on Friday, while Malacca were crowned Malaysia Premier League (MPL) winners.

JDT have written themselves into the MSL history books after winning Malaysia's top flight league for a record third time in row.

The Southern Tiger's 3-0 win over Terengganu means the club are 10 points clear of Felda United, who only play on Saturday. The Fighters can only collect a maximum of nine points from their remaining matches.

JDT are the first side to lift three back-to-back league titles following their wins in 2014 and 2015. The club can break two more records in the remaining two MSL rounds as no team have gone unbeaten the entire season and need only two more points to become champions with the highest points.

MSL top scorer Jorge Pereyra Diaz took his season tally to 17 goals after converting a spot-kick in the first-half and adding his second towards the end of the match. JDT skipper Safiq Rahim scored also.

JDT, however, will put the champagne on ice as they travel to Hong Kong next as part of their journey in defending the AFC Cup. Mario Gomez' men play South China in the quarter-final first-leg on Tuesday before welcoming his former side to Larkin on September 20.

On the same night, JDT II – the development squad of the club – lost their final chance of making it a double league win after a 1-1 draw with Malacca at the Hang Jebat Stadium.

The result ensured Malacca the trophy as they enjoy an unassailable seven-point lead over PKNS, who pipped JDT II into second with a 1-0 away win to ATM.

Photos: JDT