Pahang retain Malaysia Cup

10-man Pahang defeated Johor Darul Ta'zim (JDT) on penalties after the game finished 2-2 in extra time to win the 2014 Oppo Malaysia Cup.

The Elephants took the lead when an unmarked Dickson Nwakaeme headed Azidan Sarudin’s free kick past JDT goalkeeper Al-Hafiz Hamzah in the 15th minute.

JDT pegged back 15 minutes later when Jorge Pereyra Diaz pounced on the rebound of a blocked Fadhli Shas shot.

The Southern Tigers secured the initiative three minutes later when Pahang captain Razman Roslan accidentally handled inside the box, allowing Luciano Figueroa to slot home from the penalty box and give his side the lead going into half time.

After the match resumed, Figueroa was put through a one-on-one situation to increase his team’s lead, but his shot hit the far post.

Pahang’s title defense looked all but over when right-back Saiful Nizam was sent off for rashly retaliating against Amri Yahyah during a Pahang corner kick, but Nwakaeme grabbed his second goal shortly to draw the game level.

Despite both sides having clear goal-scoring opportunities, the score remained the same until the end of extra time, forcing the first penalty shootout in a Malaysia Cup final since 1998.

After JDT substitute Norshahrul Idlan Talaha’s spot-kick was saved by Khairul Azhan, Hafiz Kamal scored the decisive final penalty kick to help his side to win the final.

By doing so, Pahang became the first team since Kedah in 2008 to retain the illustrious cup.