Safee Sali and Khairul Fahmi omitted from Malaysia squad

International regulars Safee Sali and Khairul Fahmi Che Mat are two of the biggest names omitted from the Malaysia squad for the upcoming friendly against Oman.

For the Harimau Malaya’s first match since the 2014 AFF Suzuki Cup final last December, head coach Dollah Salleh has shuffled things by dropping the duo from his 20-man squad, opting to put them on the standby list instead.

Joining them in failing to survive the post-Suzuki Cup cut are JDT full-back Mahali Jasuli, Kelantan captain Badhri Radzi and Pahang playmaker Hafiz Kamal.

Meanwhile, Selangor defender Azmi Muslim and Pahang attacker Azamuddin Akil are dropped after picking up respective injuries.

Predictably, JDT have provided the most players to the Malaysia squad with seven names including Junior Eldstal, who is in line to make his international debut for the country.

There are representatives from JDT II too, as Dollah has also handed surprise call-ups for defender Che Rashid Che Halim and midfielder Akram Mahinan.

Sarawak talisman Joseph Kalang Tie has re-joined the set-up, having missed the Suzuki Cup due to his wedding, while Felda United’s Ahmad Syamim Yahya and Selangor’s Hazwan Bakri have been rewarded for their fine form in the league.

All the selected players who are not involved with the AFC Cup or the FA Cup are required to report for duty by March 18th, while the rest will report on later dates.

The friendly match against Oman has been scheduled to take place on March 26th.


Farizal Marlias (JDT), Khairul Azhan Khalid (Pahang)


Fadhli Shas (JDT), Che Rashid Che Halim (JDT II), Muslim Ahmad (PDRM), Afif Amiruddin (PDRM), Zubir Azmi (Terengganu)


S. Kunanlan (JDT), Junior Eldstal (JDT), Safiq Rahim (JDT), Akram Mahinan (JDT II), Baddrol Bakhtiar (Kedah), Ahmad Syamim Yahya (Felda United), Joseph Kalang Tie (Sarawak)


Norshahrul Idlan Talaha (ATM), S. Chanturu (JDT), Amri Yahyah (JDT), Indra Putra Mahayuddin (Felda United), Hazwan Bakri (Selangor), Abdul Manaf Mamat (Terengganu)


Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (Kelantan), K. Gurusamy (Selangor), R. Gopinathan (Pahang), Wan Zack Haikal (Kelantan), Safee Sali (JDT)