Bordeaux crush Vannes to lift League Cup

PARIS - Girondins Bordeaux lifted the French League Cup for the third time with a 4-0 demolition of second division Vannes on Saturday. Vannes, who had knocked out three Ligue 1 sides on their way to the final at Stade de France, collapsed when they conceded three goals in the first 12 minutes. Brazilian midfielder Wendel started the rout with a fine goal after three minutes and further efforts by defender Marc Planus and midfielder Yoan Gouffran followed soon after. Midfielder Yoann Gourcuff wrapped up a comfortable victory for the Girondins shortly before halftime. Bordeaux, League Cup winners in 2002 and 2007, made sure of a place in the third qualifying round of the Europa League, which replaces the UEFA Cup next season, and stayed in contention for a domestic league and cup double. They are just two points behind Ligue 1 leaders Olympique Marseille with six matches left. Vannes were hoping to become the second club from the second division to win the League Cup after Gueugnon in 2000 but soon found out to their cost that Bordeaux were much too strong. "I had told my players that the best way to show Vannes respect was to put them under pressure straight away and try to score as many goals as we could," Bordeaux coach Laurent Blanc said in a televised interview. "We had to show them that we were the better side and we did that," he added. "The game was decided in the first 15 minutes. We're happy tonight and now we have an exciting end of season to look forward to." Wendel showed Bordeaux the way, controlling the ball with his chest before flicking it over keeper Christophe Revel. Planus tapped home from a Wendel corner seven minutes later before Gouffran killed the tie with a headed goal from Gourcuff's free kick. Wendel then had to be substituted with a knee injury but Bordeaux stayed in control of the match. Gourcuff further punished the Brittany side with a deflected shot from the edge of the area after 40 minutes, making sure Bordeaux won the final by the biggest margin since the competition was introduced in the 1994-95 season.