Colo Colo win another Chilean title

SANTIAGO - Colo Colo won the Chilean championship for the fifth time in six attempts and a record 28th overall when they beat 10-man Palestino 3-1 in the second leg of the final. Argentine striker Lucas Barrios was among the scorers with his 37th goal of the season as the Chieftains completed a 4-2 aggregate win over the rank outsiders to win the Clausura championship. Barrios opened the scoring in the 27th minute of Saturday night's game when he swept home Daud Gazale's pass from close range. Palestino, who represent Chile's Palestinian community, equalised ten minutes later when Luis Pavez headed in from a corner. Gazale turned in Domingo Salcedo's pass to put Colo Colo back in front five minutes after halftime and Barrios set up the third for Rodrigo Millar in the 61st minute. Palestino, who had two players sent off in the first leg, saw red again when substitute Jean Paul Pineda was dismissed in the 74th minute for a tackle from behind. The Clausura is the second of two championships which are played in the Chilean season. Colo Colo won both tournaments in 2006 and 2007. Their run was interrupted when they lost to Everton in the final of this year's Apertura tournament.