Croatia squad for Belarus qualifier

ZAGREB - Croatia have recalled Arsenal striker Eduardo Da Silva in a 20-man squad for the World Cup Group Six qualifier against Belarus in Minsk on August 12. Coach Slaven Bilic, who has also included uncapped Dinamo Zagreb defender Dejan Lovren, said earlier this month that Eduardo was ready to return to Croatia's starting lineup after being plagued with injuries for more than a year. The Brazilian-born forward played against Andorra in April but suffered a thigh injury that kept him out of Croatia's next qualifier with Ukraine in June. He had returned to action in a friendly against Romania in February after almost a year on the sidelines following a badly broken leg while playing for his Premier League club Arsenal. Croatia are second in Group Six level on points with third-placed Ukraine but trailing leaders England by 10 points albeit with a game in hand. The group winners qualify directly for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa with the eight best runners-up from the nine groups going into a two-legged playoff for four more places. Squad: Goalkeepers: Stipe Pletikosa (Spartak Moscow), Vedran Runje (RC Lens). Defenders: Vedran Corluka (Tottenham Hotspur), Ivica Krizanac (Zenit St. Petersburg), Josip Simunic (Hoffenheim), Hrvoje Cale (Trabzonspor), Dejan Lovren (Dinamo Zagreb). Midfielders: Darijo Srna (Shakhtar Donetsk), Ivan Juric (Genoa), Ognjen Vukojevic (Dynamo Kiev), Nikola Pokrivac (Monaco), Jerko Leko (Monaco), Danijel Pranjic (Bayern Munich), Luka Modric (Tottenham), Niko Kranjcar (Portsmouth), Ivan Rakitic (Schalke 04). Forwards: Ivica Olic (Bayern Munich), Mladen Petric (Hamburg), Mario Mandzukic (Dinamo Zagreb), Eduardo Da Silva (Arsenal).