Liverpool open up with Tottenham test

LONDON - Manchester United will begin their Premier League title defence at home to newly promoted Birmingham City, after the 2009/10 fixtures were announced on Wednesday.

Liverpool, who finished second last season, travel to Tottenham Hotspur, while Chelsea under new coach Carlo Ancelotti host Hull City.

Arsenal travel to Everton as the campaign begins on the weekend of August 15.

BLOG: Ten great Premier League opening day moments

Newly promoted Burnley's first top-flight match since 1976 will be away to Stoke City, while Championship champions Wolverhampton Wanderers host West Ham United.

New Wigan Athletic manager Roberto Martinez starts his reign at Aston Villa, while Bolton Wanderers host Steve Bruce's new club, Sunderland.

Manchester City travel to Blackburn Rovers and Portsmouth meet Fulham at Fratton Park.

United's first 'top four' test comes against Arsenal on August 29 at Old Trafford, with Liverpool next at Anfield on October 24.

Alex Ferguson's side travel to Chelsea's Stamford Bridge on November 7.

In the Championship which begins on August 8, West Bromwich Albion and Newcastle United, both relegated from the Premier League last season, play each other at the Hawthorns.

Middlesbrough, also relegated, host last season's losing Championship playoff finalists Sheffield United.