Rangers romp to Scottish title triumph

Rangers wrapped up the Scottish Premier League title on Sunday with a 3-0 victory at Dundee United while Celtic could only draw 0-0 with Hearts. Kyle Lafferty, Pedro Mendes and Kris Boyd were all on the scoresheet for Rangers who took the title for the first time since the 2004-05 season. They will go directly into the group stages of the Champions League while Celtic will have to qualify. "It was a terrific performance. We had to produce one and I thought we were terrific here today," Rangers manager Walter Smith, who was celebrating his eighth title for the club but the first since he returned in 2007, told the BBC. "I felt at the stage in late December when we were well behind Celtic that we would lose out but we haven't and that's fantastic." Rangers have now won the Scottish title 52 times. Celtic had to win and hope that Rangers slipped up against Dundee United but they were denied even that by a string of fine saves by Hearts keeper Marian Kello.