Saprissa win fifth straight Costa Rican title

SAN JOSE - Saprissa won their fifth successive Costa Rican title when they beat Alajuelense 3-0 in the second leg of the Apertura championship final. Trailing 2-0 from the first leg, the Purple Monsters wiped out the deficit in less than a quarter of an hour of Saturday night's return. Alejandro Alpizar headed in Armando Alonso's cross in the 12th minute and returned the compliment he set up the second for Alonso to score two minutes later. Striker Jairo Arieta scored the decisve goal in the 85th minute from a chance created by playmaker Walter Centeno. Saprissa's Alexander Robinson and Alajuelense's Argenis Fernandez were sent off for fighting in the 57th minute. The Apertura is the first of two championships played in the Costa Rican season.