Tampines trio up against Ikhsan and Adam for 2018 SPL Young Player of the Year

Tampines Rovers have three players in the 7-man shortlist for the 2018 Singapore Premier League (SPL) Young Player of the Year award.

We are part of The Trust Project What is it?

With the SPL Awards Night scheduled for mid-October, the shortlist for SPL Young Player of the Year award has been revealed.

The Tampines trio of Zulfadhmi Suzliman, Amirul Adli and Irfan Najeeb lead the way while Albirex Niigata FC S also have three representatives in Taku Morinaga, Adam Swandi and Kenya Takahashi.

Rounding up the list is Singapore international forward Ikhsan Fandi from the Young Lions.

Last year’s award went to Balestier Khalsa’s Hazzuwan Halim while the previous edition saw M. Anumanthan pick up the accolade.

Since the introduction of the award in 1996, there have only been eight foreign players who have earned the plaudits.

Indra Sahdan is the only player in the history of the league to win two Young Player of the Year titles when he walked away with the big prize in 2000 as a Geylang United youngster, before retaining the crown a year later with Home United.