Hassan scoops POTY honours at 2014 S.League Awards

Goalkeeper Hassan Sunny was named the 2014 S.League Player of the Year at the S.League Awards Night, as Warriors FC teammates Nicolas Velez helped sweep the player honours with his Young Player of the Year win.

The awards ceremony was held at ITE College East on Sunday evening, with players, fans and media present for the season-ending occasion.

Hassan beat out the likes of DPMM's Rodrigo Tosi, Home United's Fazrul Nawaz, Albirex Niigata (S)'s Kazuki Sakamoto and Balestier Khalsa's Goran Ljubojevic to win the top gong, while Velez had Courts Young Lions' Sahil Suhaimi, DPMM's Azwan Ali and teammate Suria Prakash to contend with.

There was also something of a surprise win in the Coach of the Year category, as the popular Marko Kraljevic took home the prize.

The Singapore Cup-winning Croatian coach was in fine company, having edged out S.League and League Cup winners Alex Weaver (Warriors FC) and Steve Kean (DPMM).

Geylang International's Fabian Kwok took out the Goal of the Year award after his goal from the halfway line against Albirex, while Rodrigo Tosi accepted his award for S.League top scorer.

Retiring forward Aleksandar Duric was once again honoured for his achievements, while Home United striker Qiu Li was feted for his 100th career S.League milestone.

S.League Awards Night winners

Tiger Beer Goal of the Year: Fabian Kwok (Geylang International FC)

Mikasa Story of the Year: 'Beating cancer is his biggest win' by David Lee for The New Paper

Yeo's Picture of the Year: 'Head over Heels' by Jeremy Long for The New Paper

RHB Top Scorer Award: Rodrigo Tosi (Brunei DPMM FC)

Diadora Assistant Referee of the Year: Goh Gek Pheng Jeffrey

Great Eastern Referee of the Year: Muhammed Taqi Aljaafari

Singapore Pools Fair Play Award: Geylang International FC

Polar Fan Club of the Year: Warriors FC

Yeo's Young Player of the Year: Nicolas Velez (Warriors FC)

RHB Coach of the Year: Marko Kraljevic (Balestier Khalsa FC)

Great Eastern Player of the Year: Hassan Sunny (Warriors FC)

Photo: Football Association of Singapore