Indonesia announce squad to face Malaysia on international return

The Indonesian football association (PSSI) have announced the squad chosen by coach Alfred Riedl for next week’s friendly against Malaysia that will signal their return from the international wilderness.

We hope that in this friendly match we will help create good momentum for our senior national team's resurrection


The match against Malaysia will be held at Manahan Stadium, Solo and is part of the Indonesian national team’s preparations for the 2016 AFF Suzuki Cup in Manila, Philippines in November.

Riedl, who was appointed as Indonesian manager after FIFA lifted the ban on the country, invited 47 players to try out for the squad, including Selangor’s Andik Vermansyah.

In addition to the training camp, Riedl also kept an eye on matches taking place in the Indonesia Soccer Championship as part of his considerations before deciding on a final group of 22.

"The names of these players is the choice of Riedl and team coach," said Erwin Dwi Budiawan, vice chairman of the PSSI.

“We hope that in this friendly match we will help create good momentum for our senior national team's resurrection.

“The senior national team did not compete for a long time and we recently emerged from FIFA sanctions.”

The PSSI was also keen to note this is not the final Indonesian squad for the Suzuki Cup, with Reidl selecting a number of youngsters he would like to observe in national colours.

“Apart from the youngsters in the squad, there are three players who play abroad that we called-up for this match,” said Indonesian assistant coach Wolfgang Pikal.

“They are Irfan (Bachdim), Dedi Gusmawan and Andik Vermansyah.”

Malaysian coach Ong Kim Swee is expected to name his squad later this week.

Indonesia squad to face Malaysia:


1. Kurnia Meiga Hermansyah (Arema)

2. Andritany Ardhiyasa (Persija)

3. Dian Agus Prasetyo (Pusamania Borneo FC)


4. Benny Wahyudi (Arema)

5. Indra Kahfi Ardhiyasa (Surabaya Bhayangkara United)

6. Hansamu Yama Pranata (Barito Putera)

7. Dedi Gusmawan (Zeyar Shwe Myay Myanmar)

8. Rodolof Yanto Basna (Persib Bandung)

9. Fachrudin Wahyudi Aryanto (Sriwijaya FC)

10. Abdul Rachman (Persiba Balikapapan)

11. Muhammad Abduh Lestaluhu (PS TNI)


12. Andik Vermansyah (Selangor FA Malaysia)

13. Evan Dimas Darmono (Surabaya Bhayangkara United)

14. Ichsan Kurniawan (Sriwijaya FC)

15. Bayu Pradana Andriatmo (Mitra Kukar)

16. Adam Alis Setyano (Barito Putera)

17. Septian David Maulana (Mitra Kukar)

18. Irsyad Maulana (Semen Padang)


19. Zulham Malik Zamrun (Persib Bandung)

20. Boaz TE Salossa (Persipura Jayapura)

21. Lerby Eliandry Pong Babu (Pusamania Borneo FC)

22. Irfan Haarys Bachdim (Consadole Sapporo)