International Soccer Sixes to kick off this weekend

 The sixth edition of the Singapore Cricket Club International Soccer Sixes is back this weekend, kicking off on 17 and 18 May at the historic Padang.

Spectators can expect an exciting weekend of football from 33 teams across South East Asia in three categories - Youth; Open; and Masters.

Arsenal legend Ray Parlour will be competing in the Masters category for the second time while talkSPORT presenter Alan Brazil makes his first appearance as a Special Guest of the tournament.

Both VIPs were on hand at the SCC yesterday to preside over the Open Category draw, as 16 teams from Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia, Japan and Hong Kong were drawn out of a hat.

Teams will face each other on a league round robin basis, with 16 teams split into four groups of four teams.

The top two teams from each group will then face off against each other in the main quarter final single knockout round before culminating in a final match between the last two teams standing.

Fans attending the two day event will want to keep their eyes peeled for the CLA Masters team managed by former Manchester United player Paul Parker and represented on the field by Ray Parlour alongside sporting luminaries PJ Roberts, Tim Bredbury, Scott Star, Richard Lenton, Alistair Rosebrough and John Wilkinson.

"We are very proud to have the event back for its sixth edition and glad to see support for the event grow over the years," Tournament Chairman Owen Monaghan said.

"We are pleased to be able to offer this chance for players across all categories to be able to come to Singapore, enjoy the city and most importantly, pursue their passion for soccer."

Match Schedule:

Saturday, 17 May 2014
Youth Category - 9.00am to 10.45am
Open Category - 11.00am to 1.45pm
Masters Category - 2.00pm to 4.45pm

Sunday, 18 May 2014
Knockout Stages for all Categories - 12.00pm to 6.30pm

Open Tournament Draw:

Group A: Pahang FC (MAS), SCC NFL (SIN), Royal Bangkok Sports Club (THA), International Soccer Academy (SIN)
Group B: Hong Kong Football Club (HKG), SCC First XI (SIN), Singapore Vikings FC (SIN), Mod Daeng Rang Rid FC (THA)
Group C: Kelantan Warriors (MAS), THU Saints (MAS), Raymond Weil FC (INT), Singapore Wanderers (SIN)
Group D: Yokohama Country & Athletic Club (JPN), SAFSA (SIN), Admiralty FC (SIN), German All Stars (SIN)