League Cup Review: Hougang stun holders DPMM, SRC no match for Geylang

Matchday 2 of the TNP League Cup saw Hougang United claim a 1-0 upset victory over defending champions Brunei DPMM, while Geylang International put semi-pros Singapore Recreation Club to the sword with a 4-0 win.

Geylang and Hougang now take up the crucial top two spots in Group A after their respective victories.

Hougang United 1 Brunei DPMM 0

New Cheetahs signing Vuk Sotirovic hit the ground running on his debut as he fired home the winner midway through the first half at Hougang Stadium.

Collecting a loose ball after DPMM captain Rosmin Kamis’ clearance ricochetted off a Hougang attacker, the Serbian forward held off a couple of challenges before unleashing a sizzling low strike from the edge of the box which sailed past Bruneian goalkeeper Wardun Yussof.

Meanwhile, it was an off day for the Wasps forwards Rafael Ramazotti and Paulo Sergio as they failed to get past a sturdy Hougang defence well led by former Singapore international Tengku Mushadad.

Hougang had enough in the tank to see off their opponents and hold out for a famous win.

Geylang International 4 Singapore Recreation Club 0

Things were much more straightforward at Jalan Besar Stadium as Geylang raced to a 3-0 lead inside the first 22 minutes.

Bruno Castanheira broke the deadlock after just nine minutes played, heading home an inch-perfect cross from the byline by compatriot Tatsuro Inui.

Winger Hafiz Nor then made it two three minutes later, coolly leaving SRC keeper Shaiful Nizam in a heap with a clever feint before converting with his left foot.

Hafiz then netted his second midway through the first half, slipping past two players before lashing a superb low drive into the bottom left corner.

The rout was completed on the stroke of half time, as the 26-year-old latched onto a superb defence-splitting pass from namesake Hafiz Osman before firing home from a tight angle to complete his hat-trick.

Despite seemingly taking their foot off the pedal in the second half, Jorg Steinebrunner’s side ran out emphatic winners in the end.

Photos: Football Association of Singapore