LionsXII handed tricky Malaysia Cup draw

Singapore's representatives have been drawn in Group A, along with Pahang, Felda United and Johor Darul Takzim II.

This sets up an interesting group stage for the LionsXII, who have never progressed past the semi-finals since entering the competition two years ago.

FA Cup winners Pahang look to be the LionsXII's biggest threat in Group A, with runners-up Felda United also in the same group.

A second Malaysian Premier League outfit in the form of JDT II also promises a match up against Singapore captain Shahril Ishak, with the midfielder having transferred from LionsXII at the start of the season.

"We are pleased with the draw. There are no easy teams in a cup competition, but we are quietly confident," LionsXII assistant coach Nazri Nasir said after the draw.

"Although results did not go our way in the Malaysian Super League, we won our final game so I hope we will maintain that momentum going into the Cup.

"The players are hungry to prove a point, and I hope our fans will pack the stands at Jalan Besar Stadium to give us the extra push."

Also with Nazri at the Institut Sukan Negara in Bukit Jalil was LionsXII captain Isa Halim, who had only recently returned from a three-month injury layoff.

"We have had a tough time in the League with several players out at different times, but now everyone is back and ready to up their game for the Cup campaign," Isa said.

"The bulk of the team has experienced what it’s like to go through a Malaysia Cup campaign.

"We were unfortunate to be knocked out in the semi-final and quarter-final in the past two seasons, but with the fans behind us and with the benefit of our experience, I am confident that we will be able to do well."

The top two teams from each group will progress to the knockout stages, with the LionsXII hoping to emulate the wildly successful Singapore team which had previously won the competition 24 times before 1995.

Malaysia Cup 2014 Groupings

Group A

  • Pahang FA
  • LionsXII
  • KL Felda United FC
  • Johor Darul Ta’zim II FC

Group B

  • Terengganu FA
  • Sarawak FA
  • Perak FA
  • Kedah FA

Group C

  • Johor Darul Ta’zim I FC
  • Kelantan FA
  • ATM FA
  • Penang FA

Group D

  • Selangor FA
  • KL Sime Darby FC
  • T-Team FC

Main Image Credit: Football Association of Singapore