Selvaraj predicts another tough season ahead for the Young Lions

The Garena Young Lions are even more inexperienced than last year’s wooden-spoon winning outfit, so there are likely to be more difficult times ahead, according to new coach V. Selvaraj.

The Young Lions unveiled their squad for the 2017 S.League season at a media event at Jalan Besar Stadium on Friday evening.

To prepare for the SEA Games in Kuala Lumpur in August, the squad is made up entirely of under-22 players.

Shahrin Saberin, who had a breakout season with Home United last year, has been handed the captain’s armband. He will be joined at the Young Lions by his former Home teammate Ikhsan Fandi, son of Singapore legend Fandi Ahmad.

Fareez Farhan, the top local goalscorer last season with four goals for the Young Lions, and the other over-aged players, Khairul Amri, Firdaus Kasman and Christopher Van Huizen, have all left.

Former Singapore international V.Selvaraj takes the reins from the departed Patrick Hesse and he believes his young team, which lost 19 of its 24 games last season, will continue to struggle in 2017.

“We are under no illusions, this season will be just as difficult for the team as last year. Though our boys have gained some experience from the previous season, they will face vastly more experienced opponents without the experience of the senior players this season,” he said.

A partnership with the Singapore Cancer Society was also announced, where the team will donate half of the gate receipts from its 12 home games to the charity.

The Young Lions kick off their 2017 S.League campaign against Home United on February 28 at Bishan Stadium.

The Full 2017 Garena Young Lions Squad

Hairul Syirhan, Fashah Iskandar, Adib Nur Harkim, Zharfan Rohaizad, Dhukilan Jeevamani, Ehvin Sasidharan, Illyas Lee, Faizal Roslan, Rusyaidi Salime, Hafiz Sulaiman, Shahrin Saberin, Taufiq Muqminin, Yeo Hai Ngee, Ammirul Emmran, Armin Maier, Haiqal Pashia, Joshua Pereira, Taufik Suparno, Amirul Adli, Amirul Hakim, Hami Syahin, Muhaimin Suhaimi, Muhelmy Suhaimi, Shameer Aziq, Syahrul Sazali, Zulqarnaen Suzliman, R Aaravin, Ikhsan Fandi, Shafeeq Faruk, Ryan Syaffiq