Sundram names final 23-man AFF Suzuki Cup squad

Singapore head coach V.Sundramoorthy has named his final 23-man AFF Suzuki Cup squad, with Afiq Yunos dropped from his list. 

Shahdan Sulaiman and Shahfiq Ghani both survived the cut, despite only just coming back from long-term injuries.

“Every player has been working hard in the lead up to the AFF Suzuki Cup,” Sundram said in a press release.

“Our final 23-man squad includes a good mix of experienced and young players and we will strive to do our best in the competition. Every team in this group is strong and we need to remain focused and disciplined throughout the matches.”

Singapore will kick off its campaign against Group A co-hosts Philippines on Saturday, before playing against Thailand on November 22 and wrapping up the group stage against Indonesia on November 25.

Singapore 23-man squad

Goalkeepers: Hassan Sunny (Army United), Izwan Mahbud (Tampines Rovers), Syazwan Buhari (Geylang International)

Defenders: Baihakki Khaizan (Johor Darul Ta’zim II), Daniel Bennett (Geylang International), Juma’at Jantan (Home United), Madhu Mohana (Warriors FC), Faritz Hameed (Geylang International), Hafiz Sujad (Tampines Rovers), Shakir Hamzah (Tampines Rovers),

Midfielders: Mustafic Fahrudin (Tampines Rovers), M.Anumanthan (Hougang United), Hariss Harun (Johor Darul Ta’zim), Shahril Ishak (Johor Darul Ta’zim II), Faris Ramli (Home United), Izzdin Shahfiq (Tampines Rovers), Safuwan Baharudin (PDRM), Yasir Hanapi (Tampines Rovers), Gabriel Quak (Geylang International), Shahdan Sulaiman (Tampines Rovers)

Forwards: Sahil Suhaimi (Geylang International), Khairul Amri (Young Lions), Shahfiq Ghani (Geylang International)

Main Photo: Weixiang Lim/FFT