Sundram names Singapore squad for Bahrain game, Khairul Nizam earns recall

Singapore head coach V.Sundramoorthy has named his 23-man squad for the opening Asian Cup Qualifier against Bahrain, with striker Khairul Nizam and four others recalled. 

Balestier goalkeeper Zaiful Nizam, Irfan Fandi, Geylang duo Safirul Sulaiman and Shawal Anuar were the others to earn a recall after missing out on Sundram’s AFF 2016 squad.

Shahfiq Ghani, Gabriel Quak, Shahdan Sulaiman, Syazwan Buhari, Sahil Suhami and Baihakki Khaizan miss out this time round, while uncapped Warriors defender Ho Wai Loon is placed on the standby list.

We are preparing well and are determined to do our best to qualify for the AFC Asian Cup 2019

- Sundram

Singapore will play Afghanistan in an international friendly in Qatar on March 23, before travelling to Bahrain on March 28 to kickstart their qualifying campaign.

“We are all looking forward to beginning this final qualification round for the 2019 AFC Asian Cup,” said Sundram, who this week earned a two-year contract extension.

“Bahrain will be favourites, but we are able to compete with them. The friendly against Afghanistan, who have players in European leagues, will be excellent preparation for the team.

“This is a balanced squad – with a good mix of experience and youth. We are preparing well and are determined to do our best to qualify for the AFC Asian Cup 2019."

Singapore 24-man squad

Goalkeepers: Hassan Sunny (Home United), Izwan Mahbud (Tampines Rovers), Zaiful Nizam (Balestier Khalsa)

Defenders: Daniel Bennett (Tampines Rovers), Ho Wai Loon* (Warriors FC), Irfan Fandi (Home United), Juma’at Jantan (Home United), Madhu Mohana (Tampines Rovers), Faritz Hameed (Geylang International), Hafiz Sujad (BBCU), Nazrul Nazari (Hougang United), Shakir Hamzah (Tampines Rovers), Mustafic Fahrudin (Tampines Rovers), Safirul Sulaiman (Geylang International)

Midfielders: M. Anumanthan  (Hougang United), Hariss Harun (Home United), Faris Ramli (Home United), Izzdin Shafiq (Home United), Safuwan Baharudin (PDRM FA), Shawal Anuar (Geylang International), Yasir Hanapi (Tampines Rovers)

Forwards: Khairul Nizam (Home United), Khairul Amri (Tampines Rovers), Shahril Ishak (Warriors FC)

*Standby list