Sundram names squad for AYA

Sundram’s first test as Singapore head coach will come on June 3 and he has named several surprise call-ups, including 35-year-old Noh Rahman... 

The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) announced V.Sundramoorthy’s 23-man squad for the AYA Bank Cup.

Singapore will be participating in the inaugural AYA Bank Cup as part of the nation’s preparations for the year-end Suzuki Cup.

Singapore will play hosts Myanmar on June 3, with Hong Kong playing Vietnam in the other game.

The winners of both matches will proceed to the final on 6 June. There will also be a third and fourth placing match on the same day.

Azhar, who is turning 30 this year, along with Amy Recha are the two uncapped players in the squad.

The former has been in scintillating form in recent games, after scoring three goals in as many games.

But the call-up was a surprise to Azhar himself, after he was only informed on Friday morning.

“I didn't see it coming, just that many has said it's time for me to get called up,” Azhar said.

“I am enjoying my football with Home United but I didn't think I would get called up at this age. The pace of football is different, but I will do my best.”

Sundram has also called up 35-year-old defender Noh Rahman, Khairul Amri who has only played four games this season.

Singapore full squad

Goalkeeper: Hassan Sunny (Army United), Izwan Mahbud (Tampines Rovers), Zaiful Nizam (Balestier Khalsa),

Defenders: Baihakki Khaizan (Johor Darul Ta’zim II), Madhu Mohana (Warriors FC), Noh Rahman (Tampines Rovers), Afiq Yunos (Tampines Rovers), Hafiz Sujad (Tampines Rovers), Nazrul Nazari (Hougang United), Safuwan Baharudin (PDRM FA)

Midfielders: Anumanthan (Hougang United), Hariss Harun (Johor Darul Ta’zim), Faris Ramli (Home United), Izzdin Shafiq (Tampines Rovers), Yasir Hanapi (Tampines Rovers), Zulfahmi Arifin (Home United), Gabriel Quak (Geylang International)

Forwards: Fazrul Nawaz (Tampines Rovers), Amy Recha (Geylang International), Sahil Suhaimi (Geylang International), Azhar Sairudin (Home United), Khairul Amri (Young Lions), Shahril Ishak (Johor Darul Ta’zim)