Uncapped Singaporeans in line to take on Messi and mighty Argentina

Singapore head coach V.Sundramoorthy announced his squad to face two-time World Cup winners Argentina on Friday, with four uncapped players set to earn a memorable appearance against Lionel Messi and company...

Geylang International goalkeeper Syazwan Buhari, Warriors FC defender Ho Wai Loon and Garena Young Lions duo Hami Syahin and Muhaimin Suhaimi are included in the 27-man squad led by 132-cap captain Shahril Ishak. 

We have to treasure this moment ... I hope to see the national stadium full

- Hariss Harun

The national team will meet Chinese Taipei in an Asian Cup qualifier on June 10 at Jalan Besar Stadium before facing Argentina at the National Stadium on June 13. 

Sundramoorthy said of his team selection: "It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity for our players to represent the nation and take on former world champions Argentina on home turf.

"I'm confident that the squad I've selected is the very best to take on the opponents and put on a great showing for Singapore football fans."

National vice-captain Hariss Harun admits he is finding it hard to believe the opportunity that lies ahead for himself and his compatriots.

"When I first heard about the fixture, I couldn't believe it," he said.

Hariss can barely hide his excitement

"So we have to treasure this moment and it's going to be a great day of football. I hope to see the national stadium full."

Opponents Argentina have already announced their squad and will come into this game with a new head coach in former Sevilla manager, Jorge Sampaoli. 

The squad features star names like Messi, Juventus forward Gonzalo Higuain, Paris Saint Germain winger Angel Di Maria and Manchester United goalkeeper Sergio Romero. 

Singapore Squad:

Goalkeepers: Hassan Sunny (Home United), Izwan Mahbud (Tampines Rovers), Syazwan Buhari (Geylang International), Zaiful Nizam (Balestier Khalsa)

Defenders: Shakir Hamzah, Mustafic Fahrudin, Daniel Bennett, Madhu Mohana (all Tampines Rovers), Irfan Fandi (Home United), Ho Wai Loon (Warriors FC), Nazrul Nazari (Hougang United), Faritz Hameed (Geylang International)

Midfielders: Safirul Sulaiman, Gabriel Quak, (Geylang International), Hariss Harun, Faris Ramli, Izzdin Shafiq (Home United), Hami Syahin (Garena Young Lions), Zulfahmi Arifin (Hougang United), Safuwan Baharudin (PDRM FA), Yasir Hanapi, Shahdan Sulaiman (Tampines Rovers), Hafiz Sujad (unattached)

Forwards: Shahril Ishak (Warriors FC), Khairul Amri (Tampines Rovers), Khairul Nizam (Home United), Muhaimin Suhaimi (Garena Young Lions)

Photos: Weixiang Lim/FourFourTwo