Cosmos down Indy Eleven in shootout for second straight NASL title

Cosmos' triumph is third in four years

The New York Cosmos are champions of the North American Soccer League for the second consecutive season and third time in four years after defeating Indy Eleven, 4-2 in a penalty shootout on Sunday at Belson Stadium in New York.

The two teams played 120 scoreless minutes before heading to spot-kicks. Ryan Richter converted the winning PK for the Cosmos.

Among the more curious moves of the shootout was the decision to send out veteran goalkeeper Jon Busch to take the team's third PK; Busch missed the shot, opening the door for the Cosmos.

New York was the No. 1 seed in the four-team playoff field. Indy, the No. 2 seed, had won the spring season title.