Puskas wins Puskas Award

The prestigious Puskas Award has again been won by Ferenc Puskas, Back of the Net reports...

We are part of The Trust Project What is it?

The Puskas trophy, presented each year to the football player who is Ferenc Puskas, has been won yet again by Ferenc Puskas.

The award was created in 2009 to recognise players who are Ferenc Puskas, and it was duly awarded to Puskas, who had passed away in 2006.

In 2010, Puskas again unanimously won the coveted prize before retaining it in 2011. He completed a triumphant hat-trick in 2012 before easily winning the honour in 2013.

This year there was a feeling in the build-up to the presentation that the deceased Hungarian great’s grip on the trophy may slip, but the voting public saw things differently.

The result of the 2014 award was announced at the Ballon d’Or ceremony in Zurich and Puskas again won 100% of the public vote.

“When it comes to being Ferenc Puskas, it’s hard to look past Ferenc Puskas,” one voter told FourFourTwo.

“I thought long and hard, but in the end I went for Puskas. Ferenc Puskas, that is.”

Moldovan midfielder Ghenadie Pusca was tipped to have a chance, but despite his clear potential, he again fell several letters and an entire first name short of the award.

“Anyone who has ever played the game to a high level knows just how hard it is to be Ferenc Puskas,” Thierry Henry said as he presented the award.

“I remember seeing videos of him playing and the thing that strikes you is that he’s consistently Ferenc Puskas, day in, day out. I’m not sure anyone will ever take this award away from him.”

At the ceremony there were honourable mentions for Liverpool restaurant Puschka and broadcaster Mark Pougatch, but it was Ferenc Puskas who continues to set the standard for being Ferenc Puskas.

More from Back of the Net