World Cup 2022: Wojciech Szczesny reveals €100 bet with Lionel Messi over penalty during Poland vs Argentina

Wojciech Szczesny penalty
(Image credit: Getty)

When the referee goes over the check the monitor during a World Cup match, there is always tension in the air. That was certainly the case during Poland's final group game with Argentina in Qatar. 

With the scores at nil-nil, during the first half of a showdown both teams were desperate to win, the match official went to review a potential foul from Poland goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny on Argentina star Lionel Messi. 

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Ed McCambridge
Staff Writer

Ed is a staff writer at FourFourTwo, working across the magazine and website. A German speaker, he’s been working as a football reporter in Berlin since 2015, predominantly covering the Bundesliga and Germany's national team. Favourite FFT features include an exclusive interview with Jude Bellingham following the youngster’s move to Borussia Dortmund in 2020, a history of the Berlin Derby since the fall of the Wall and a celebration of Kevin Keegan’s playing career.