Denilson: Eduardo did not dive

Arsenal midfielder Denilson has backed team-mate Eduardo following the striker's charge by UEFA for diving to win a penalty in the Champions League play-off against Celtic, insisting the front-man was fouled.

The Croatian international was reprimanded by European football's governing body on Friday for "deceiving the referee," after appearing to dive to win a penalty in the North London side's 3-1 second-leg victory over Tony Mowbray's side.

He could now be handed a two-match European ban, missing the opening two group phase encounters of this season's Champions League.

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has labelled the decision "a complete disgrace," warning that it could set a dangerous precedent for future cases of players being accused of simulation.

And Gunners' midfielder Denilson has supported his under-fire team-mate, insisting the striker was fouled inside the penalty area and did not dive.

"I still believe it was a penalty," he said in The Mirror.

"I know Eduardo well and he is an honest player, not a diver and doesn't get into controversy with referees.

"I understand the Celtic players and their reaction but no-one can doubt that Arsenal were the better team over the course of the whole 180 minutes."