Why was Antoine Griezmann's goal against Tunisia given as offside at World Cup 2022?

Antoine Griezmann France World Cup 2022
(Image credit: Getty Images)

When Antoine Griezmann had scored what seemed like the equalising goal in the 98th minute during France's final Group D World Cup 2022 match against Tunisia, there didn't seem to be anything wrong with the goal, with the referee blowing the full-time whistle.

However, after a length VAR check, it was eventually given as offside - but why? 

Well, when the ball came to Tchouameni on the edge of the box and he lined up to cross it into the Tunisian area, Griezmann was stood a couple of yards offside. The diminutive Frenchman didn't touch the ball, though, which was instead cleared by a Tunisian defender. 

Griezmann touched the ball next, striking into the far corner to bag the latest of late equalisers. Nothing untoward had occurred. Or so it seemed.

After a lengthy check by VAR, the referee was called over to the monitor to take a look at the incident. While Griezmann didn't touch the ball after Tchouameni's cross, he could have been adjudged to be interfering with play.

This isn't a clear cut rule, though, due to the law clarifying that a player interfering with play is open to interpretation. 

Eventually, the referee determined that the Frenchman was interfering with play and therefore affecting the Tunisian defender clearing the ball, hence why it was given as offside. 

Despite the full-time whistle having already been blown, the game then continued after the referee had awarded the offside. Despite knowing their fate had already been sealed, with Australia progressing to the last-16 rather than them, Tunisian players, coaches and fans alike were desperate for the game to finish.

Finally it was, handing Tunisia an historic victory over the reigning World Cup champions.

Who doesn't love a last minute, cancelled out goal due to a VAR check, eh?

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Ryan Dabbs
Staff writer

Ryan is a staff writer for FourFourTwo, joining the team full-time in October 2022. He first joined Future in December 2020, working across FourFourTwo, Golf Monthly, Rugby World and Advnture's websites, before eventually earning himself a position with FourFourTwo permanently. After graduating from Cardiff University with a degree in Journalism and Communications, Ryan earned a NCTJ qualification to further develop as a writer while a Trainee News Writer at Future.