Germany squad to face England in Berlin

BERLIN - Germany coach Joachim Loew on Thursday left Torsten Frings out of his squad to face England next week despite having apparently settled his differences with the experienced midfielder.

Loew told Frings last week he could still be "an important part of the national team" after the player apologised for comments he had made in the media following his exclusion from Germany's last two starting line-ups.

However there was no place for the 31-year-old in the 20-man squad named by Loew on Thursday for the friendly match at Berlin's Olympic stadium next Wednesday.

The German football federation (DFB) said in a statement that Loew and Frings had agreed on the player's omission ahead of the squad announcement.

Germany captain Michael Ballack, who also apologised to Loew after expressing his own disappointment at the treatment of Frings, will miss the England game as he is still recovering from a foot operation.

Philipp Lahm, Clemens Fritz, Marcell Jansen and Christian Pander have also been ruled out for health or injury reasons.

In their place Loew has called up three debutants with Hoffenheim team-mates Marvin Compper and Tobias Weis, and Wolfsburg's Marcel Schaefer in line for first caps.

"We want to use the last game of the year to again try out one or two things and get some impressions for next year," Loew was quoted as saying in the DFB statement.

Loew also confirmed his decision not to recall former German goalkeeper Jens Lehmann following speculation that the 39-year-old could have made a farewell appearance during the match against England.

The Germany coach said last week the friendly was too important as a means of giving international match practice to Lehmann's young successors.

Goalkeepers: Rene Adler (Bayer Leverkusen), Tim Wiese (Werder Bremen)

Defenders: Marvin Compper (Hoffenheim), Arne Friedrich (Hertha Berlin), Andreas Hinkel (Celtic), Per Mertesacker (Werder Bremen), Marcel Schaefer (VfL Wolfsburg), Serdar Tasci (VfB Stuttgart), Heiko Westermann (Schalke 04)

Midfielders: Thomas Hitzlsperger (VfB Stuttgart), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Marko Marin (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Simon Rolfes (Bayer Leverkusen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Piotr Trochowski (Hamburg SV), Tobias Weis (Hoffenheim)

Forwards: Mario Gomez (VfB Stuttgart), Patrick Helmes (Bayer Leverkusen), Miroslav Klose (Bayern Munich), Lukas Podolski (Bayern Munich)