Arsenal striker Miedema named in PFA Women’s Super League Team of the Year

Prolific Holland striker Vivianne Miedema is one of three players from title-chasing Arsenal included in the 2019 PFA Women’s Super League Team of the Year.

The division’s top scorer, who has struck 21 times and provided nine assists in 18 appearances to lead the Gunners to the brink of their first title since 2012, is joined in the XI by midfield team-mates Kim Little and Lia Walti.

Arsenal are four points clear of second-placed Manchester City with two games to play and could be crowned champions at Brighton on Sunday.

PA Graphic

PA Graphic

Gunners captain Little has contributed eight goals and five assists in 12 matches for Joe Montemurro’s side, while Switzerland international Walti has enjoyed an impressive debut season in England following last summer’s move from German club Turbine Potsdam.

Continental Cup winners City and reigning WSL champions Chelsea – who could reach the Women’s Champions League final on Sunday – also have three players each in the team.

England trio Steph Houghton, Demi Stokes and Nikita Parris are the City players selected, while Hannah Blundell, Ji So-yun and Erin Cuthbert make up the Blues contingent.

See more

Striker Parris, who became the highest goalscorer in WSL history in November, is Miedema’s only realistic challenger for the golden boot after registering 16 times in 18 outings. Captain Houghton and fellow defender Stokes have contributed to eight clean sheets for Nick Cushing’s unbeaten FA Cup finalists.

Chelsea defender Blundell has been an important part of the division’s tightest defence, which has conceded only 12 times in 18 games. Forward Cuthbert has chipped in with six goals and four assists for Emma Hayes’ third-placed side, with South Korea midfielder So-yun contributing five goals and two assists.

Bristol City goalkeeper Sophie Baggaley and Birmingham’s Aoife Mannion complete the team.

See more

Ever-present England Under-23 keeper Baggaley has produced a string of player-of-the-match performances for City this campaign.

Consistent Blues defender Mannion, meanwhile, is one of four players selected for the second successive season, along with Stokes, Blundell and So-yun.

The players will be honoured at the PFA’s annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 28.

PFA Women’s Super League 1 Team of the Year 2019: Sophie Baggaley (Bristol City), Hannah Blundell (Chelsea), Aoife Mannion (Birmingham), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Ji So-yun (Chelsea), Kim Little (Arsenal), Lia Walti (Arsenal), Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea), Nikita Parris (Manchester City), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal).

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

FourFourTwo Staff

FourFourTwo was launched in 1994 on the back of a World Cup that England hadn’t even qualified for. It was an act of madness… but it somehow worked out. Our mission is to offer our intelligent, international audience access to the game’s biggest names, insightful analysis... and a bit of a giggle. We unashamedly love this game and we hope that our coverage reflects that.