Fans are RAGING over controversial World Cup final penalty

Ousmane Dembele of France fouls Angel Di Maria of Argentina to concede a penalty during the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Final match between Argentina and France at Lusail Stadium on December 18, 2022 in Lusail City, Qatar.
(Image credit: Chris Brunskill/Fantasista/Getty Images)

Lionel Messi has put Argentina 1-0 up in the World Cup final – but there's some controversy over how.

Angel Di Maria was brought down in the penalty area by Ousmane Dembele, with the Barcelona winger pleading his innocence to the referee. There was no intervention from the video assistant referee, however, as Messi calmly slotted the ball home

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Mark White
Content Editor

Mark White is the Digital Content Editor at FourFourTwo. During his time on the brand, Mark has written three cover features on Mikel Arteta, Martin Odegaard and the Invincibles, and has written pieces on subjects ranging from Sir Bobby Robson’s time at Barcelona to the career of Robinho. An encyclopedia of football trivia and collector of shirts, he first joined the team back in 2020 as a staff writer.