Russia squad for Slovenia play-off

MOSCOW - Arsenal forward Andrei Arshavin, Spurs striker Roman Pavlyuchenko, Chelsea wide-man Yuri Zhirkov and Everton midfielder Diniyar Bilyaletdinov have all been named in Russia's 24-man squad for this month's World Cup play-off against Slovenia:

Guus Hiddink recalled goalkeeper Vladimir Gabulov, who played on Saturday for the first time since breaking his jaw and sustaining concussion in a league match six weeks ago. Initially he was told he might be out for several months.

Hiddink also included Gabulov's Dynamo Moscow team-mate, central defender Denis Kolodin, who also played his first match in more than two months this weekend after coming back from a hamstring injury.

The coach called up Dmitry Sychev for the first time since March after the Lokomotiv Moscow striker scored twice in a league match at the weekend.

The Russians host Slovenia at Moscow's Luzhniki Stadium on November 14 and play the return leg in Maribor four days later.

Goalkeepers: Igor Akinfeyev (CSKA Moscow), Vyacheslav Malafeyev (Zenit St Petersburg), Vladimir Gabulov (Dynamo Moscow).

Defenders: Sergei Ignashevich (CSKA Moscow), Alexei Berezutsky (CSKA Moscow), Vasily Berezutsky (CSKA Moscow), Yuri Zhirkov (Chelsea), Denis Kolodin (Dynamo Moscow), Renat Yanbayev (Lokomotiv Moscow), Alexander Anyukov (Zenit St Petersburg).

Midfielders: Igor Semshov (Zenit St Petersburg), Konstantin Zyryanov (Zenit St Petersburg), Vladimir Bystrov (Zenit St Petersburg), Igor Denisov (Zenit St Petersburg), Sergei Semak (Rubin Kazan), Alan Dzagoyev (CSKA Moscow), Diniyar Bilyaletdinov (Everton), Alexei Rebko (FK Moscow), Dmitry Torbinsky (Lokomotiv Moscow).

Forwards: Andrei Arshavin (Arsenal), Roman Pavlyuchenko (Tottenham Hotspur), Pavel Pogrebnyak (VfB Stuttgart), Alexander Kerzhakov (Dynamo Moscow), Dmitry Sychev (Lokomotiv Moscow).