BBC/ITV split of World Cup group games

Television broadcasters ITV and the BBC have revealed which World Cup matches they will be showing during this summer's global extravaganza.

ITV will screen the opening match of the tournament between hosts South Africa and Mexico on Friday June 11, as well as both of England's first two group stage encounters against USA and Algeria.

The BBC will then televise the Three Lions' final group fixture against Slovenia, as well as England's second round and quarter-final games, assuming Fabio Capello's men make it that far.

If England progress to the semi final both ITV and the BBC will screen the match.

Both channels will broadcast their matches online and both will show the final whether England are taking part or not.

ITV will televise the third-place play-off.

“We’re delighted that ITV will kick off coverage of this summer’s World Cup and that England’s two opening games will be shown live on ITV1 in peak time," said Niall Sloane, ITV’s Controller of Sport.

"There is no bigger event on UK television or online than the World Cup and ITV will be at the heart of the action from the first kick through to the final whistle.”

Philip Bernie, BBC Head of TV Sport added: "The BBC are very happy with how the TV split of matches for the World cup has been resolved. The BBC has some of the most appetising of the group fixtures, and will be showing live every England match from their final group game onwards, so we hope to be with them for a long and successful campaign.

"The BBC will aim again to capture the very best of the biggest event of the year across all its outlets, on TV, on radio and online."

2010 World Cup Group Games Split
(BBC in bold, ITV in italics)

June 11 3pm: South Africa vs Mexico
June 11 7:30pm: Uruguay v France

June 12 12:30pm: South Korea v Greece
June 12 3pm: Argentina v Nigeria

June 12 7:30pm: England v USA

June 13 12:30pm: Algeria v Slovenia
June 13 3pm: Serbia v Ghana

June 13 7:30pm: Germany v Australia

June 14 12:30pm: Holland v Denmark
June 14 3pm: Japan v Cameroon

June 14 7:30pm: Italy v Paraguay

June 15 12:30pm: New Zealand v Slovakia
June 15 3pm: Ivory Coast v Portugal

June 15 7:30pm: Brazil v North Korea

June 16 12:30pm: Honduras v Chile
June 16 3pm: Spain v Switzerland

June 16 7:30pm: South Africa v Uruguay

June 17 12:30pm: Argentina v South Korea
June 17 3pm: Greece v Nigeria

June 17 7:30pm: France v Mexico

June 18 12:30pm: Germany v Serbia
June 18 3pm: Slovenia v USA

June 18 7:30pm: England v Algeria

June 19 12:30pm: Holland v Japan
June 19 3pm: Ghana v Australia

June 19 7:30pm: Cameroon v Denmark

June 20 12:30pm: Slovakia v Paraguay
June 20 3pm: Italy v New Zealand

June 20 7:30pm: Brazil v Ivory Coast

June 21 12:30pm: Portugal v North Korea
June 21 3pm: Chile v Switzerland

June 21 7:30pm: Spain v Honduras

June 22 3pm: Mexico v Uruguay
June 22 3pm: France v South Africa

June 22 7:30pm: Nigeria v South Korea

June 22 7:30pm: Greece v Argentina