Skip to main content

City boss Guardiola says anything could happen in Premier League title race

Pep Guardiola claims anything could happen as his Manchester City side battle it out with Liverpool for the Premier League title.

Sergio Aguero scored a second-half penalty as champions City kept up the pressure on leaders Liverpool with a hard-fought 1-0 win over West Ham on Wednesday.

Sergio Aguero’s penalty proved the difference against the Hammers (Martin Rickett/PA)

The result kept City within a point of the Reds at the top but, with third-placed Tottenham losing, there is now an eight-point gap to the rest of the field.

City manager Guardiola said: “We know with 10 games (to go), three points (a win), many things are going to happen.

“I think we are going to drop points, I think Liverpool are going to drop points. So we are going to see, until the end.

“It is important now to refresh and (have a) good recovery and prepare for the game against Bournemouth.”

See more

City were frustrated by the Hammers, managed by their former boss Manuel Pellegrini, for an hour before breaking through after Bernardo Silva was adjudged to have been clipped in the box by Felipe Anderson.

Aguero made no mistake from the spot as he tucked home his 25th goal of the season in all competitions.

City deserved their victory having dominated from the outset. They had 20 attempts at goal to West Ham’s two, including an effort from David Silva that hit the post, and enjoyed 76 per cent possession.

Manuel Pellegrini (right) frustrated his old club on his return to the Etihad Stadium with West Ham

Manuel Pellegrini (right) made life difficult for his old club on his return to the Etihad Stadium with West Ham (Martin Rickett/PA)

The visitors nevertheless defended superbly and Pellegrini felt his side were unfortunate, particularly to lose to a penalty he felt questionable.

The Chilean said: “To be generous, (it was) a little soft but (that is being) too generous. It was not a penalty.

“It was a play that happens a lot of times inside the box. In the other box Manuel Lanzini had exactly the same and he didn’t throw (himself) to the floor.

“If we had lost this game with another action then maybe you could accept it, but not that penalty.”