Italy squad for September qualifiers

MILAN - Winger Marco Marchionni returned from a three-year absence when he was named in the Italy squad on Sunday for World Cup qualifiers in Georgia and at home to Bulgaria.

The Fiorentina player, who switched from Juventus during the close season, picked up his last of three caps in a 1-1 draw with Lithaunia in Euro 2008 qualifying in September 2006.

Otherwise coach Marcello Lippi, whose side top Group Eight, has resisted making major changes for the match in Tbilisi next Saturday and the home meeting with Bulgaria in Turin on September 9.

Midfielder Gennaro Gattuso has been ruled out of both matches after picking up an ankle injury in AC Milan's 4-0 defeat by Inter Milan on Saturday, while fellow World Cup winner Luca Toni also misses out with a heel injury.

Defender Nicola Legrottaglie returns after being rested for the scoreles friendly draw in Switzerland earlier this month and AS Roma midfielder Daniele De Rossi is also included despite being suspended for the trip to Georgia.

Young players Federico Marchetti, Claudio Marchisio, Domenico Criscito and Davide Santon have all been retained from the Switzerland game but Genoa defender Salvatore Bocchetti misses out.

Milan captain Massimo Ambrosini and veteran strikers Filippo Inzaghi and Alessandro Del Piero have again been overlooked while Brazilian-born Juventus striker Amauri is still waiting for an Italian passport.


Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Morgan De Sanctis (Napoli), Federico Marchetti (Cagliari)

Defenders: Fabio Cannavaro (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Domenico Criscito (Genoa), Fabio Grosso (Olympique Lyon), Nicola Legrottaglie (Juventus), Davide Santon (Inter Milan), Gianluca Zambrotta (AC Milan)

Midfielders: Mauro Camoranesi (Juventus), Gaetano D'Agostino (Udinese), Daniele De Rossi (AS Roma), Marco Marchionni (Fiorentina), Claudio Marchisio (Juventus), Angelo Palombo (Sampdoria), Simone Pepe (Udinese), Andrea Pirlo (Milan)

Forwards: Antonio Di Natale (Udinese), Alberto Gilardino (Fiorentina), Vicenzo Iaquinta (Juventus), Fabio Quagliarella (Napoli), Giuseppe Rossi (Villarreal)